Record-Breaking 273 entries at the 7th Annual Supernationals presented by the GO BIG Chassis Shop!

The Radio Controlled Drag Racing League wants to thank everyone that played a part in last weekends record-breaking 273 entries at the 7th Annual Supernationals presented by the GO BIG Chassis Shop!
From our hard-working setup crew, Michael Mercadel, Mike Pfeil, Jeff Chambers, Jerry Lumar, Duncan Jones, Jeremy & Jill Miller to our incredible volunteer staff of Stat Girls, Tessa Pfeil, Kelly Braud Mercadel, our Tech Team, Jerry & Paula Shivers, Mike & Tonya Tonya Taylor, and Kim Faulkner. To all that assisted in the event’s success from months ago till the conclusion… THANK YOU!
A big shout out to the incredible members that worked so tirelessly at sponsorship and the raffle to include, Michael Mercadel, Dawn Williford, Jeff Chambers, Doug Crews, Jill Wydrinski, Nancy Granstrom Goldstein, and Jayme Bates.
We would also like to thank our late Sunday night tear down crew, Jerry Shields, Michael Willis, Jesse Hernandez, Francisco Frontera, Cesar A Santiago, Dennis Guzman, Johnell J. Torres Ramos, Hector Lopez Cruz, and Wilfredo Perez, Mikey and Regina Allsobrooks, Jerry Lumar, The Millers, and Mike and Stacey Chandlers. (If we have missed anyone, please forgive us.)
To our event sponsor, Chad Howard thank you for your partnership with the RCDRL. We hope we exceeded your expectations. It was a pleasure promoting your brand and we will continue to do so throughout the 2019 season.
To all of our class sponsors; DragRace Concepts, Team Saiko Rc Drag Racing, Mike Smith Racing Tires, Rudis Motorsports, Everyone’s Realtor,, Summit Racing Equipment, Tilson Innovations Garage, Your Battery Buddy, Taylor Home Theater, HobbyTown (Hurst, TX) and Paul Miller Custom Pools we could not have done it without you guys!
Raffle update… Including the 50/50 daily raffle and Split Second Foundation raffle, our members and supporters from around the country helped gross over $3000.00 for our causes. Please give yourself a hand and THANK YOU to all our donors of awesome prizes and gifts! Once again we would like to thank Jill, Nancy, and Jayme for facilitating such an awesome raffle!
Now to the race itself, in the DragRace Electric Top Fuel final, it was #8 Qualifier Carlos “The Texas Nightmare” Espinoza taking the win over RCDRL Puerto Rico’s Dennis Guzman. The Texas Nightmare had to outlast the 29 car field and win 5 rounds of racing!
In the Summit Racing Equipment Pro Funny Car final, our President Michael Mercadel finally captured his first Supernationals win on his 7th attempt. The very talented Jazmine Hernandez had the race won, but lost control on the big end, tapped the wall and was DQ’ed. (“It sucks to win that way but it happens. I would rather be lucky than good sometimes”, Michael Mercadel)
Congratulates to Sarah Shipman on winning the Young Gunners Bracket Saturday Show over Brandon Mares. The Young Gunners Sunday honors go to Colt Mares who took the win over Christian Russell.
Over in the 32 car Pro Mod field, sponsored by Team Saiko, it was Mike Rey of Florida who defeated Dennis “The Professor” Forbes in the finals.
New to the Supernationals, Pro Street had a healthy 17 car filed. It was your #1 qualifier Greg Bridgewater going the distance over the #2 qualifier Richard Madera.
In the Mike Smith RC Racing Tires Electric Funny Car Class, it was Carlos “The Texas Nightmare” Espinoza taking the win over Willie “Pocket Change” Thomas.
In the Rudis Motorsports Pro Stock Class, Jerry Shields from the #2 qualifying position outlasted the 28 car field. He took the win over the #15 qualifier Jonathan Waggoner in the finals.
Over in Nitro Top Fuel, it was #6 qualifier Dean Butts taking the finals over the #4 qualifier Barry Jungjohan. It was great to see and hear Nitro Top Fuel screaming down the Long Star Dragway.
In 4WD, it was #2 qualifier Kevin Matos taking the finals win over #1 qualifier Harry Maldonado.
In 2WD, it was all Louisiana. #1 qualifier Rony Robinson defeated #2 Dennis “The Professor” Forbes in the finals.
 The Paul Miller Custom Pools Street Eliminator Class had 21 eager driver entries battling for the win. At the end of the day, it was no other than the 2018 Driver of the Year coming out of the #8 qualifying position Chris Markowski. He took the win over David Fielder.
The 2.50 Index Class had Annalisa Poddighe coming out of the #5 qualifying position to put our President, Michael Mercadel on the trailer in the finals.
In the Everyone’s Realtor Quick 16 Bracket, it was the #14 qualifier Mike Pfeil grabbing his first Supernationals victory in many tries over the #4 qualifier Harry Maldonado.
Over in the All Run Bracket Class, it was the #12 qualifier Jeff Schmidt, Jr. taking the win over the #8 qualifier John Luzzi.
More in-depth details can be heard this Monday night, September 9th, 7pm Central Time on the FishBowl Radio Network Blue Stream.
Big congratulations to all of the JConcepts Holeshot Award Winners: Ant Wren Billy Bartkus Michael Mercadel Jeff Chambers Regina Alsobrooks Dewayne Shipman Jill Wydrinski Cesar Santiago Robert St. Pierre Carl Russell Piper Munson.
Once again, I would like to thank everyone for such a record-breaking event. The meet and greet on Thursday evening was a total success thanks to the delicious food provided by Nancy Goldstein and Jerry Lumar. Thanks to JD Donley for the use of his smoker and his cooking talent. The registration process, along with the backpacks, koozies, and shirts provided by Just Us 2 Printing made life easier trackside both Friday and Saturday. Sign-It Signs, you all did a great job on our guard rails. Randy Mayhew, you were missed in the pits, but your hard work and talent were well received by the awesome artwork!
Again tune into the RCDRL Radio Show Monday night for more info on the Go Big Chassis Shop Supernationals.
Web Statistics